Nacho Patrol is the latest guise of Den Haag’s maddeningly prolific Danny Wolfers, who’s best known for his consistently mind-blowing electro work as Legowelt and Smackos. Next month will see the release of the second Nacho Patrol’s full-length, Nacho Patrol presents Africa Jet Band, via the M-Division label.

There have been two Nacho Patrol releases to date, The Maze of Violence, soundtrack to an imaginary Italian horror/cop flick released in 2008, and then this year’s Futuristic Abeba EP. Released on Rush Hour Records offshoot Kindred Spirits, Futuristic Abeba was a voodoo-infused mix of ethio-jazz, afrobeat, house and tribal psychedelia, and one of the 12"s of the year so far; a Hudson Mohawke remix of lead track ‘Africa Space Program’ is in the works.

From the sticky electro-funk of ‘Small Stones’ to the undulating, Balearic-style drum raga of ‘El Fuego en Nostrodus Todo’, Africa Jet Band is going to be a terrific listen, at least if the clips on Wolfers’ blog are anything to go by, 


A1. El Fuego En Nostrodus Todo

A2. Cheetahman

A3. Small Stones

B1. Hippo Aviation

B2. Caramelle

B3. Stratus Chant

Nacho Patrol Presents Africa Jet Band will be released on September 15.



Share Tweet