We’re beyond honoured to welcome Mr. Scott Grooves to the decks for our 86th exclusive FACT Mix.

Detroit native Scott was inspired to begin making house music by Jeff Mills’ legendary The Wizard radio shows and nights out at The Music Institute. It was there that he met Kevin Saunderson, leading to the release of his debut 12″ on KMS and a stint playing keyboards for Saunderson’s chart-bothering Inner City.

A series of Grooves 12″s were released on Glasgow’s Soma Records, including the classic ‘A New Day’. Following a notable collaboration with Roy Ayers on ‘Expansions’ (a cover of the Lonnie Liston-Smith jazz-funk bomb), Scott released his debut LP, Pieces of A Dream, which found him really drawing on his roots in jazz and soul; most famously it featured ‘Motherhip Reconnection’, a spirited house rework of Parliament’s ‘Mothership Connection’ that received the blessing of George Clinton and was later remixed by Daft Punk to rambunctious and radio-ruling effect.

Since then, Scott has steered well clear of the hype machine and instead put all his considerable powers into honing and developing his own deep and soulful, rhythmically arresting brand of Detroit house music over various 12″ releases, mainly for his own Natural Midi and From The Studio of Scott Grooves labels, but also on Clone, Soiree and others. Never has Grooves been so vital and relevant, and it’s telling that none other than Floating Points was bristling with excitement when we told him we had a mix in from the man. Last month Scott played alongside pal Omar-S at Fabric, his first UK gig in a decade, and was absolutely bloody brilliant.

Scott’s most recent releases are the ‘Classic 909’ 12″ and a brace of exceptional self-released mix CDs comprised of his own productions. The first is entitled Does Not Compute, and showcases his “edgier  analogue sound” while Journey Into The Riddum is a more organic, soulful affair. Both discs are essential and are available to preview and buy here.

His terrific, dubbed-out FACT Mix is one of the best house sessions we’ve heard all year, with stand-out tracks from Floating Points, Norm Talley, Keith Worthy and Grooves himself. Download it now!




1. Intro (boarding)2. Minha “Cuica Solo”3. Floating Points “Vacuum”4. Norm Talley “Journey”5. Keith Worthy “008 Aesthetic Audio”6. Scott Grooves “Warm and Intense”7. Riddum Interlude8. Lady Alma “Let It Fall”9. Syren “My First Love”10. Scott Grooves “Brass Clapp”11. Panther “3 Track Dub” 12. Scott Grooves “Keytroit”



Share Tweet