Remember a while back when we told you that stadium-dance perennials Underworld were collaborating with shiny-scalped ambient-meister Brian Eno?

Well, the first fruit of this newly established studio relationship will appear on a new compilation from Underworld vs The Misterons entitled Athens (via RA). It’s a track called ‘Beepop Hurry’, and is credited to Brian Eno & Karl Hyde – apparently conceived during Eno’s artistic residency at Sydney Opera House earlier this year, it’s essentially a mellifluous trip-hop track topped with Hyde’s customary wibbly spoken vocals.

‘Beebop Hurry’ is exclusive to, and the closing track on, Athens, a 12-track mix that spans cosmic jazz (Alice Coltrane, Mahavishnu Orchestra), 70s art-pop (Soft Machine, Roxy Music) and of course a fair wad of house and techno from the likes of Moodymann, Osunlade, Laurent Garnier and Underworld themselves. It will be released on November 23 by !K7.

Full tracklist over the page.



01. Alice Coltrane – Journey In Satchidananda02. Mahavishnu Orchestra – You Know, You Know03. Squarepusher – Theme From Sprite04. Soft Machine – Penny Hitch05. Roxy Music – 2HB06. The Detroit Experiment – Space Odyssey07. Moodymann – Rectify08. Osunlade – The Promise09. Underworld – Oh10. Laurent Garnier – Gnaumankoudji (Broken Afro Mix)11. Miroslav Vitous – New York City12. Brian Eno & Karl Hyde – Beebop Hurry



Share Tweet