Midlake will release their third studio album, The Courage Of Others, via Bella Union on February 1, 2010.

The band’s previous LP, The Trials of Von Occupanther, was a slow-burning but vigorous commercial success, selling over 50,000 copies in the UK. One of the album’s most notable tracks, ‘Roscoe’, was remixed to beautiful effect by Erol Alkan and Richard Norris’s Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve.

Neil Young, America and Fleetwood Mac were the key influences on the AM-friendly folk-rock sound of Von Occupanther, but for new album The Courage Of Others Midlake have reportedly looked to earlier British folk music for inspiration, making for a "slower, darker" record than its predecessor.

“We didn’t want to make the same album as Van Occupanther," says guitarist Eric Pulido, "So we carried on moving and creating and pushing for a newer sound and emotion.”

Tracklist over the page.



1. Acts of Man2. Winter Dies3. Small Mountain4. Core of Nature5. Fortune6. Rulers, Ruling All Things7. Children of the Grounds8. Bring Down9. The Horn10. The Courage of Others11. In The Ground

The band will play the following warm-up gigs ahead of an extensive UK tour in mid-February:

Friday 22 January – NEWCASTLE – The ClunySaturday 23 January – LEICESTER – The MusicianSunday 24 January – CAMBRIDGE – Junction2 Wednesday 27 January – NORWICH – Arts Centre Thursday 28 January – LONDON – Tabernacle 



Share Tweet