The nominations for the 2010 Brit Awards were announced last night, with Bat For Lashes, Animal Collective and Florence & The Machine among the artists featured.

Dizzee Rascal, Mika, Calvin Harris, Paolo Nutini and Robbie Williams are up for the British Male Solo Artist award, while Bat For Lashes, Florence & The Machine, Leona Lewis, Lily Allen and Pixie Lott will scrap it out for for British Female Solo Artist. Contenders in the British Single category include Pixie Lott, La Roux, JLS and Cheryl Cole.

The British Breakthrough Act award will go to one of Florence & The Machine, Friendly Fires, JLS, La Roux and Pixie Lott, while the international category finds Animal Collective and Lady GaGa up against the not particularly intimidating might of Empire of The Sun, Daniel Merriweather and Taylor Swift. Animal Collective’s Merriweather Post Pavilion is nominated for International Album, along with Jay-Z’s The Blueprint 3 and the latest efforts from Black Eyed Peas, Lady GaGa and Empire of The Sun.

Oh, and there’s going to be a ‘BRITs album of 30 years’ award this year: albums by Coldplay, Dido, Dire Straits, Duffy, Keane, Oasis, Phil Collins, Sade, The Verve and Travis are in the offing.

In short, it’s business as usual. The full list of categories and nominations is as follows:

British male solo artist

Calvin Harris
Dizzee Rascal
Paolo Nutini
Robbie Williams

British female solo artist

Bat for Lashes
Florence & the Machine
Leona Lewis
Lily Allen
Pixie Lott

British breakthrough act

Florence & the Machine
Friendly Fires
La Roux
Pixie Lott

British group
Friendly Fires

British album
Dizzee Rascal – Tongue N’Cheek
Florence & the Machine – Lungs
Kasabian – West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum
Lily Allen – It’s Not Me, It’s You
Paolo Nutini – Sunny Side Up

British single

Alesha Dixon – Breathe
Alexandra Burke Ft Flo Rida – Bad Boys
Cheryl Cole – Fight For This Love
Joe McElderry – The Climb
JLS – Beat Again
La Roux – In For The Kill
Lily Allen – The Fear
Pixie Lott – Mama Do
Taio Cruz – Break Your Heart
Tinchy Stryder Ft N-Dubz – Number 1

BRITs performance of 30 years

Bee Gees – Stayin’ Alive/How Deep is Your Love (1997)
Bros – I Owe you Nothing (1989)
Coldplay – Clocks (2003)
Eurythmics & Stevie Wonder – Angel (1999)
Girls Aloud – The Promise (2009)
Kanye West – Gold Digger (2006)
Kylie Minogue – Can’t Get You Out of my Head (2002)
Michael Jackson – Earth Song (1996)
Paul McCartney – Live & Let Die (2008)
Pet Shop Boys – Go West (1994)
Robbie Williams & Tom Jones – The Full Monty Medley (1998)
Scissor Sisters – Take Your Mama (2005)
Spice Girls – Wannabe/Who Do You Think You Are (1997)
Take That – Beatles Medley I Wanna Hold Your Hand/Hard Day’s Night/ She Loves Me (1994)
The Who – Who Are You (1988)

International male solo artist

Bruce Springsteen
Michael Buble
Seasick Steve

International female solo artist

Lady GaGa
Norah Jones

International breakthrough act

Animal Collective
Daniel Merriweather
Empire of the Sun
Lady GaGa
Taylor Swift

International album

Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
Black Eyed Peas – The E.N.D.
Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream
Jay-Z – The Blueprint 3
Lady GaGa – The Fame

BRITs album of 30 Years

Coldplay – A Rush of Blood to the Head
Dido – No Angel
Dire Straits – Brothers in Arms
Duffy – Rockferry
Keane – Hopes & Fears
Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory?
Phil Collins – No Jacket Required
Sade – Diamond Life
The Verve – Urban Hymns
Travis – The Man Who

British producer

To be announced at the Music Producers Guild awards on 11 February
Jim Abbiss
Paul Epworth
Ethan Johns
Steve Lillywhite

Critics’ choice

Ellie Goulding

Outstanding contribution to music

Robbie Williams



Share Tweet