Details of the new Gorillaz album have been revealed, including its cover art and finalised tracklist.

As previously reported, the album is entitled Plastic Beach and will be released on March 8.

According to a press release, the album tells the story of Plastic Beach HQ, “a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific…the furthest point from any landmass on earth…made up of the detritus, debris and eashed up remnants of humanity.”

The album features guests including Snoop Dogg, Lou Reed, Mark E Smith, Gruff Rhys, De La Soul, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, Little Dragon, The Clash’s Mick Jones and Paul Simonon, Kano and Bashy. Though Barry Gibb of The Bee Gees was rumoured to feature on the record, in actual fact he doesn’t. Lead single ‘Stylo’, available to stream here, calls on the talents of Mos Def and Bobby Womack.

1 Orchestral Intro (ft. Sinfonia ViVA)
2 Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach (ft. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3 White Flag (ft. Kano, Bashy, and the National Orchestra for Arabic Music)
4 Rhinestone Eyes
5 Stylo (ft. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6 Superfast Jellyfish (ft. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7 Empire Ants (ft. Little Dragon)
8 Glitter Freeze (ft. Mark E Smith)
9 Some Kind of Nature (ft. Lou Reed)
10 On Melancholy Hill
11 Broken
12 Sweepstakes (ft. Mos Def and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13 Plastic Beach (ft. Mick Jones and Paul Simonon)
14 To Binge (ft. Little Dragon)
15 Cloud of Unknowing (ft. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16 Pirate Jet



Share Tweet