Richard Norris, one half of acclaimed psych-plunderers Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve, will release his first full-length solo album as The Time And Space Machine.

There have been four official Time And Space Machine releases to date, including the mini-LPs Volume One (2008) and Volume Two (2009). As you may have gathered from the name, this project is an outlet for Norris’s most flightily cosmic tendencies, anchored with rhythms derived from disco, krautrock and slo-mo Balearica.

“This is the first time I’ve made an album pretty much on my own,” says Norris of the new, self-titled record, due to be released by Tirk in March. “Apart from two days laying down drums with ace beatnik drum-lord Wildcat Will and a couple of vocal sessions, this record was pieced together solo over many months in a room beneath a castle in Lewes, Sussex, England. It’s a different dynamic making a record on your own, and allowed the record to grow in its own particular way.

“After years collecting, releasing, writing and thinking about psychedelic music, I’ve finally put my formative influences onto a set of tunes. I’ve been in love with psychedelia and freakbeat ever since I worked at the UK psych label Bam Caruso as a teenager, and I’ve really tried to mesh that influence with modern techniques to create something new.”

1. Time and Space
2. Path Through The Cathedral
3. Set Phazer to Stun
4. You Are The One
5. Children of The Sun
6. Zeitghost
7. Infinite
8. More Cowbell
9. Midsummer Night
10. Mushroom Family
11. After The Gold Rush



Share Tweet