High Places are to release a new album in April with the title High Places vs. Mankind.

It’s the second full-length proper from Mary Pearson and Rob Barber, and according to a press release it finds the duo “tackling the complex, gigantic subject of being human and what it’s like to interact with human beings”. Woah, easy now.

Such sunny topics as addiction, aging and death are attended to across the record’s ten track duration, and guitars are more prominent than on High Places’ eponymous 2008 debut. Mary’s vocals are also less drenched in effects, but the off-kilter dance rhythms and dub influence are still very much intact.

You can download new track ‘On Giving Up’ by clicking here.

The band are soon to release a digital single and video, ahead of a 12″ featuring additional and unreleased remixes. The album is due out on April 6 via Thrill Jockey, and there’ll be a number of North America and Europe live dates announced in support of it.


1. The Longest Shadows
2. On Giving Up
3. She’s A Wild Horse
4. The Channon
5. Canada
6. Constant Winter
7. On A Hill In A Bed On A Road In A House
8. Drift Slayer
9. The Most Beautiful Name
10. When It Comes



Share Tweet