XL Recordings and Merok will release The Monitor, a new album from Titus Andronicus, on March 8.

It’s a 65-minute “sort of” concept record about the American Civil War, according to the band’s singer Patrick Stickles.

“It doesn’t take place in olden times, nor does it necessarily feature any characters that participated in that conflict. Really, it is a record about how the conflicts that led our nation into that great calamity remain unresolved, and the effect that this ongoing division has on our personal relationships and our behavior and how they’re all out to get us (or maybe not?) and yadda yadda yadda.”

Yadda indeed. The Monitor was produced by Kevin McMahon in New York, and members of Ponytail, Vivian Girls, Wye Oak and The Hold Steady appearances. The artwork is by Double Dagger vocalist Nolen Strals.

1. A More Perfect Union
2. Titus Andronicus Forever
3. No Future Part Three: Escape From No Future
4. Richard II
5. A Pot In Which To Piss
6. Four Score And Seven
7. Theme From “Cheers”
8. To Old Friends And New
9. …And Ever
10. The Battle Of Hampton Roads



Share Tweet