Marcel Dettmann, a resident at Berlin’s notorious Berghain club and a producer and remixer on the club’s Ostgut-Ton label (also home of Shed, Prosumer, Steffi and more) will release his debut album, Dettmann, this coming April.

A solo Dettmann album has been a long time coming: he’s one of the world’s most in-demand DJs, and his Berghain 02 CD one of the most talked-about mix CDs of the last half-decade. In 2007 he released the 2×12″ Blank Scenario, an excellent, agenda-setting collaboration with Ben Klock.

Featuring ten Dettmann productions bookended by an intro and outro (‘Quasi’ and ‘Taris’ respectively), we’re promised moments of grace and subtlety to counter the heavy, rolling techno that Dettmann – and the Berghain – have made their name with.

In the words of the man himself, “I like music with a depth that I can feel. There is no formula for that. It could be a concept album or one that makes use of various styles.”

Dettmann will be released on both CD and triple vinyl featuring every track. The album will be preceded by a single release, Dettmann Remixed, featuring remixes of ‘Shift’ and ‘Vertigo’ by Norman Nodge and Wincent Kunth respectively.

CD Tracklist:
01 Quasi (Intro)
02 Argon
03 Screen
04 Motive
05 Drawing
06 Reticle
07 Irritant
08 Captivate
09 Silex
10 Home
11 Viscous
12 Taris (Outro)

3×12 Tracklist:
A1 Quasi (Intro)
A2 Argon
A3 Screen
B1 Motive
B2 Drawin
C1 Reticle
C2 Irritant
D Captivate
E1 Silex
E2 Home
F1 Viscous
F2 Taris (Outro)

Photo by Sven Marquard



Share Tweet