Domino have announced that on April 5 they will be reissuing a re-mastered version of Elliott Smith’s debut solo LP, Roman Candle.

Roman Candle, which was originally released in 1994, has been remastered for CD, vinyl and digital re-release by Larry Crane, editor of Tape Op Magazine and archivist for Elliott’s family, with Roger Seibel at SAE Mastering.

“The intention that I had was to make the album more listenable,” says Crane. “I felt that a lot of the guitar ‘squeaks’ were jarring and very loud, and that many of the hard consonants and ‘S’ sounds were jarring and scratchy sounding. I felt by reducing these noises that the music would become more inviting and the sound would serve the songs better.  When I went to Roger Seibel’s SAE Mastering, he proceeded to equalize the tracks a small amount and to make the volume slightly louder.  We never tried to make this CD as loud as current, over-limited trends, but just to match the volume of the rest of Elliott’s Domino catalog in a graceful way. Please note that none of this album is ‘remixed’ from the master tapes – it is still composed of the mixes Elliott created himself.”

Elliott Smith died in 2003 at the age of 34.

1.  Roman Candle
2.  Condor Ave.
3.  No Name #1 (Elliott Smith, J.J. Gonson)
4.  No Name #2
5.  No Name #3
6.  Drive All Over Town
7.  No Name #4
8.  Last Call
9.  Kiwi Maddog 20/20



Share Tweet