Born Ruffians are to return with their second album, Say It, on May 31.

It’s the follow-up to 2008’s acclaimed Red, Yellow and Blue, and it too will be released by Warp Records.

“We had two and a half weeks to work on Say It,” says the band’s singer/guitarist Luke Lalonde, “Which wasn’t quite a luxurious amount of time, but it was more luxurious than we had during the sessions for Red, Yellow and Blue, when we had two weeks to record and mix it. Then, we were doing two songs a day.”

As with their debut, the new album was recorded with producer Rusty Santos, at  Mississauga’s Metalworks studio. Apparently the band experimented with Minimoogs and saxophones before stipping things back during mixing. Bassist Mitch DeRosier reckons it wasn’t a wasted effort, saying, “I think it was important that we did that, adding things just to hear how they sounded.”

The band will soon announce tour dates, for which their line-up will be supplemented with ex-Caribou bassist Andy Lloyd.


1. Oh Man

2. Retard Canard

3. Sole Brother

4. What To Say

5. The Ballad Of Moose Bruce

6. Higher & Higher

7. Come Back

8. Nova-Leigh

9. Blood, The Sun & Water

10. At Home Now



Share Tweet