The first major acts for the 2010 Mutek festival have been announced, with Theo Parrish, Matmos and the Moritz Von Oswald Trio leading the pack.

Mutek’s 2010 outing will be closed out by Von Oswald’s Trio, which features the Basic Channel / Rhythm & Sound man accompanied by Sasu Ripatti (AKA Luomo, Vladislav Delay) and Max Loderbauer (of NSI and Sun Electric). Vladislav Delay will perform a solo set of his own, along with elusive French house innovator Pépé Bradock, Mouse on Mars and Matmos.

As ever with Mutek, the emphasis will be on live, rather than DJ, performance. “People, even today, when you talk about electronic music, the first thing they think about is DJs,” festival director Alain Mongeau told Resident Advisor. “We’re actually focusing on the artists producing the music, on the craftsmanship that is behind the production.”

Matias Aguayo and Guillaume & The Coutu Dumonts will both premiere their new live groups at Mutek 2010. Other highlights of the programme include an outing for James Kirby’s The Caretaker project, Tim Hecker, Henrik Schwarz, DJ Koze, Dixon and Carl Michael Von Hausswolff, an acclaimed sound-artist who has worked with the likes of Fennesz and Russell Haswell.

FACT is a collaborating partner on Mutek’s Nocturne 3 event, an essential two-venue showcase featuring an incredible, carefully selected array of acts: King Midas Sound, Shed, Ikonika, Actress, Cheap And Deep, Jacek Sienkiewicz and Demdike Stare.

Many more acts have yet to be announced; we’ll keep you fully posted of additions.

Line-up so far:

•    Actress
•    Ben Frost
•    Brandt Brauer Frick
•    the Caretaker
•    Carl Michael Von Hausswolff
•    Cheap and Deep
•    Dave Aju
•    Demdike Stare
•    Dixon
•    Dj Koze
•    Guillaume & the Coutu Dumonts
•    Henrik Schwarz
•    Ikonika
•    Jon Hopkins
•    King Midas Sound
•    Marsen Jules
•    Matias Aguayo Presents Cómeme
•    Matmos
•    Minilogue
•    Moritz Von Oswald Trio
•    Mouse on Mars
•    Nicolas Jaar
•    Paul Kalkbrenner
•    Pépé Bradock
•    Rebolledo
•    San Proper
•    Shed
•    Theo Parrish
•    Tim Hecker
•    Vladislav Delay



Share Tweet