The 52nd Fabric mix CD will be compiled by Optimo (Espacio), and released this May (June in the US).

Optimo is the name of a hugely popular and influential Glasgow club night, ran by J.D. Twitch and J.G. Wilkes.

The pair met on a bus from Glasgow to Edinburgh, the city where Twitch was running his Pure club night, a regular session that played host to Richie Hawtin, Green Velvet, Derrick May, Jeff Mills and more in its lifespan. Twitch was later approached by Glasgow’s Sub Club to start a Sunday night session at the venue, and turned to Wilkes for a partnership.

Optimo – a genuine anything goes club night in a sea of parties that claimed similar policy without the balls to back it up – was born, and in its time at the Sub Club has featured sets from Liquid Liquid, LCD Soundsystem, Shackleton, TV on the Radio, Grace Jones and countless other luminaries alongside the two residents.

It was recently announced that Optimo, at least in its current guise, will soon end, but the night will leave in its legacy countless memories, and a permanent status as an inspiration to more recent Glasgow clubnights like Numbers.

It also, of course, will leave us this Fabric mix, which is released on May 10 in the UK and June 29 in the US, and in typical Optimo style, features music across the board from Fad Gadget, Oni Ahyun, Thomas Brinkmann, Crazy Cousinz and more. Full tracklist follows.

Fabric 52 Tracklist:
01 Fad Gadget – Lady Shave – Mute
02 Discodromo – Cosmorama (Prins Thomas Discomiks) – Internasjonal
03 Basic Channel – Q1.1 – Basic Channel
04 Spencer Parker – YOGOTO – Rekids
05 Locussolus – Gunship – International Feel
06 Rebolledo – Amigos Cómeme – Cómeme
07 The Minister – Jack Your Bodey House Your Mind – Crème Organization
08 Altz – Get It Down! – Altzmusica
09 Thomas Brinkmann – Walk With Me – Curle
10 Rheingold – Dreiklangsdimensionen – Welt Rekord
11 Capablanca & T Keeler – La Konk Fiesta – Gomma
12 Roska – Feeline – Roska Kicks & Snares
13 Cumbia Moderna De Soledad – Shacalao – Sunflower
14 The Tyrell Corporation – Together Alone – Clone
15 Roni Griffith – Spys – Vanguard
16 Levon Vincent – Love Technique – Ovum
17 Oni Ayhun – OAR003-B – Oni Ayhun
18 Desire – Don’t Call – Italians Do It Better
19 Crazy Cousinz – Inflation – Defenders Ent Ltd
20 Matias Aguayo – Walter Neff – Kompakt
21 Nakion – Heartbit – Tigersushi
22 Xex – Heartbeat – What’s That Music



Share Tweet