This year’s ATP Nightmare Before Christmas will be curated by legendary post-rockers Godspeed You! Black Emperor.

Godspeed made their name in the late 90s on lavishly packaged vinyl albums that took in past doom-laden guitar music by Slint and Mogwai, experiments with found sound and nods to string-heavy modern classical, and sported apocalyptic dramatics unlike any other. Their three first widely available records, F# A# Infinity, Slow Riot for New Zero Kanada EP and Lift yr. Skinny Fists like Antennas to Heaven are all superb, and Godspeed are arguably the weirdest band ever to appear on the front cover of the NME.

The collective have spent recent years in hiatus, but apparently are now back to curate the latest in All Tomorrow’s Parties Nightmare Before Christmas festivals – a celebration of the dark that has been curated by Mike Patton and more in the past. The weekend festival will run from December 3-5 at Butlin’s Holiday Centre, Minehead, and promises to feature around 40 bands picked by Godspeed. The first groups announced are Mike Watt (of the Minutemen and later fIREHOSE), Tim Hecker, Deerhoof, The Ex, Bardo Pond and Scout Niblett.

For Godspeed You Black Emperor’s statement on their reformation, revival or whatever you want to call it, click here. Godspeed will perform at all three nights of the weekender.

Oh, and some small print: “As this venue does not hold the entire festival capacity, ticketholders will choose one night for which they will receive a guaranteed entry wristband. Once wristbanded people have entered the venue each night, others will be allowed in on a first come first served basis allowing some people to see multiple shows.” Tickets for the event are on sale as of this morning from ATP’s homepage.



Share Tweet