Bristol roots reggae outfit Dubkasm will be remixed on a forthcoming compilation by ten of the city’s dubstep producers, including Hyetal, RSD, Peverelist, Guido, Gemmy [above] and Appleblim.

RA report that Dubkasm are comprised of childhood friends Digistep and DJ Stryda, who kicked off their dub project in the mid-’90s before going on to launch their Sufferah’s Choice label in ’03 in order to showcase their studio productions.

This compilation sees their 2009 Transform I album, which featured Levi Roots and more, remixed by the cream of Bristol’s ever-fruitful dubstep crop. RA go on to state that “Although most of the remixes could be classified as dubstep of some kind, all of them remain deeply rooted in the reggae source material, ranging from the vocodered digidub of Gemmy’s ‘City Walls’ to Peverelist’s delayed minimalist take on ‘Strictly Ital’.”

As well as the CD album in May, there will be five 12″ inch releases put out from May through September. Full tracklist follows. Oh, and speaking of Gemmy, dude uploaded some new tracks to his myspace not so long ago. Check ’em.

01. Pinch – From the Foundation feat Dub Judah
02. Gemmy – City Walls feat Ras Addis
03. RSD – More Jah Songs feat Tena Stelin
04. Forsaken – Moses feat Ras B
05. Peverelist – Strictly Ital feat Ras Addis
06. Appleblim & Gatekeeper – Respek I-Spek feat Levi Roots & Afrikan Simba
07. Guido – Nyah Keith
08. Hyetal – Tranaformai feat Ras Bernardo & Jeru Banto
09. Jakes – Hail Jah feat Ras Addis
10. Headhunter – Foundational Dub feat Dub Judah



Share Tweet