On June 14 Kompakt will release Immer 3, a new mix CD by Michael Mayer.

It comes eight years after the release of Immer, the now legendary 2002 collection that captured the new sound of Cologne, helped put Mayer’s Kompakt label on the map and set the agenda for almost a decade of minimal, melodic house and techno. 2006 saw the release of a creditable sequel, Immer 2.

‘Immer’ means ‘always’ in German, and fittingly the mix series has always been anchored in tracks that, for Mayer, have a certain timelessness, with less emphasis on the new and untested. As such, Immer 3 boasts a number of older tunes, including Smith N Hack’s tweaked electro-disco bomb ‘Falling Stars’, DJ Koze’s remix of Ben Watt’s ‘Guinea Pig’, Raudive’s Slave’, Closer Musik’s ‘Departures’ and an irreverent cover of Moritz von Oswald and Mark Ernestus’s Round Two track ‘New Day’ by Justus Kohncke (as Kinky Justice).

There are some more recent cuts included, among them Gui Boratto’s Massive Attack remix, a previously unreleased Ewan Pearson ambient mix of Cortney Tidwell’s vocal anthem ‘Don’t Let The Stars Keep Us Tangled Up’, and, most intriguingly, a new Superpitcher remix of Charlotte Gainsbourg’s ‘The Operation’.

1. Courtney Tidwell – Don’t Let the Stars Keep Us Tangled Up (Ewan Pearson’s Ambient Mix)
2. Closer Musik – Departures
3. Ben Watt – Guinea Pig (DJ Koze Remix)
4. Tim Paris – Edges of Corrosion
5. Smith N Hack – Falling Stars
6. Raudive – Slave
7. Massive Attack – Paradise Circus (Gui Boratto Remix)
8. Popnoname – Hello Gorgeous (Terranova Remix)
9. Charlotte Gainsbourg – The Operation (Superpitcher Remix)
10. Culoe de Song – The Bright Forest
11. Kinky Justice – New Day



Share Tweet