July 12 sees the release of Sub Rosa‘s An Anthology of Noise & Electronic Music Volume 6: 1957-2010.

The 2xCD set is the penultimate installment in the acclaimed series, and the editorial approach is similar to those that have come before, combining old and new, obscure and canonical. The most recognisable names here are Sunn O))’s Stephen O’Malley (pictured), who contributes the previously unreleased ‘Dolmens & Lighthouses’, and Z’ev, who weis in with a recording labelled ’12 November  1980, Melkweg, Amsterdam’. Cristian Vogel, John Wiese, Daniel Menche and Henry Cowell are also involved.

Here are the notes accompanying the pre-release:

“The Avant-Garde – the possibility of a new music (think about it). Then it scattered into small communities whose best-known protagonists are totally unknown to people outside that particular circle. We are facing this fragmentation, and one form of avant-garde (you could say) ends up scattered into several (not exclusively musical) forms. It is not in Avant-Garde’s nature to create one elementary form for each individual. Other phrases used include ‘forays’, ‘breakthroughs’, ‘pushing the envelope’, and then of course ‘going too far’. The Sub Rosa compilations are dotted with a who’s who of the electro-acoustic avant-garde from the past century, tossed in with a smorgasborg of previously unknown (and often very interesting) artists as well as contemporary musicians who are well on their way to establishing themselves within the canons of the institutional avant-garde. Sub Rosa has gone out of its way to compile a collection to scramble one’s notions of the taxonomic rhetoric that may influence the perception of any of the artists present…”

Sub Rosa is also in the process of reissuing the previously released volumes in their Anthology series on 4xLP vinyl. Vol.2 – featuring tracks from the likes of Autechre, SPK and Sun Ra – is the latest to get the wax treatment. More info here.



Share Tweet