Rinse FM will release a new double-disc UK Funky compilation in July.

Mixed by Rinse DJs Supa D and MA1, the compilation will be titled I Love Funky, so we guess it’s a follow-up to the I Love Dubstep compilation from last year.

[Brief diversion: what’s weird is that even though they’re the same title with a different genre, I Love Dubstep sounds really bad where I Love Funky doesn’t. We guess things would be different if we had everyone walking round in ‘Funky Changed my Life’ t-shirts though.]

Anyway, I Love Funky features a ton of UK Funky anthems, both from members of the scene (Hard House Banton’s ‘Sirens’, Fuzzy Logik’s ‘In the Morning’, Ill Blu’s ‘Blu Magic’) and beyond (Jan Driver’s ‘Rat Alert’, Bassjackers and Apster’s ‘Klambu’).

We’re not gonna lie, if you’ve been following Funky for the last few years, you’ll be disappointed to find that bar a few specials and recent cuts from the likes of Mad One and Champion, there’s not a massive amount of new ground being covered. However, if you’ve never heard the likes of ‘Get Low’ and ‘Do You Mind’, this will probably blow your mind.

I Love Funky will be released by Rinse on July 19.


1 For U (Supa D Special) – Funkystepz feat. Lilly Mckenzie
2 Motherboard – Champion
3 Blu Magic – Ill Blu
4 Pull It (Ill Blu Mix) – Shystie
5 Get Low (Instrumental) – Geeneus
6 Get Low (Vocal) – Geeneus feat. Ms. Dynamite
7 Feeline – Roska
8 In The Morning – Fuzzy Logic + Egypt
9 Klambu – Bassjackers + Apster
10 Reign – Hard House Banton
11 Hiya Kiya (Rocco Deep Mix) – Kentphonik
12 African Man Go – Apple
13 Be Your Girl (Perempay & Dee Remix) – Teedra Moses
14 Rhythm Dance – Naughty
15 Falling – Naughty
16 Congo Natty – Supa D + Pioneer
17 Say Yes – Ill Blu feat. Shanique
18 Sunday Morning (Kenny Dope Dub) – Todd Terry
19 DJ Sdoko – World On Fire
20 Party Hard – Donaeo
21 Housegirls (Part 1) – Mad One
22 Go (Crazy Cousinz Remix) – Meleka
23 Jesus Creates Sound (Main Mix) – Marlon D
24 Rat Alert – Jan Driver
25 Twyst This – Karizma
26 Loves The Only Drug (Adam Rios Shelter Mix) – Ultra Nate
27 As I – Geeneus feat. Katy B

CD 2 – MA1
1 In The Air (Club Mix) – Perempay & Dee feat. Katie Pearl
2 Gallium – Wookie
3 The Way You Move – Fuzzy Logik
4 Boriken Soul (Yonurican Club Mix) – Yonurican
5 Wonderful Day – Roska & Jamie George
6 Rass Out – Altered Natives
7 How Does It Feel (Vocal Mix) – Trackheadz feat. Zaki
8 High Definition – DJ MA1
9 I Need Love feat. Anesha – Roska
10 Gabrielle (Bootleg Remix) – D Malice
11 Turn Me On – Black Coffee feat. Bucie
12 Mirror Dance – Afefe Iku
13 Traveller – Zinc feat. Fatima
14 Yellowtail – Geeneus
15 Sexy Sexy – Rudimental feat. Natalie May
16 Waterfalls – DJ MA1
17 Make It Funky For Me – Attacca Pesante ft Shea Soul
18 Sunday Showers – Kentphonic
19 Need You Bad (Crazy Cousinz Remix) – Jazmin Sullivan feat. Missy Elliot
20 Sirens – Hard House Banton
21 Emotions – Geeneus & Zinc feat. Nikki
22 Squark – Roska
23 Wile Out – Zinc feat. Ms Dynamite
24 Pon De Floor – Major Lazer
25 Do You Mind (MA1 Special) – Kyla
26 Seasons – Lil Silva



Share Tweet