On September 6, Oslo’s Smalltown Supersound label will release The Soft Wave, the sophomore album from ARP.

ARP is Alexis Georgopoulos, a musician whose versatility and cross-genre appeal is attested to by the breadth and wealth of labels he’s recorded for – among them DFA, Rvng Intl., Troubleman Unlimited, Type, Rong Music, Lo Recordings, Root Strata and Eskimo.

The new album was recorded upon Georgopoulos’s relocation from San Francisco to New York, and is billed in a press release as combination of “an eye-catching prismatic pop art / New Age aesthetic with glowing exercises in coastal analog synth minimalism.”

It’s the follow up to ARP’s 2007 solo debut In Light, and follows hot on the heels of his contribution to Rvng’s Frkwys series, a specially commissioned collaboration with Henry Cow’s Anthony Moore. 
The album will be preceded by a 12″ single, ‘Pastoral Symphony’, remixed by Studio, Carl Craig, Etienne Jaumet and Mauve Deep (AKA visual artist Keegan McHargue.)

1.  Pastoral Symphony: I. Dominoes  II. Infinity Room
2.  White Light
3.  Alfa (Dusted)
4.  Catch Wave
5.  High Life
6.  Grapefruit
7.  Summer Girl
8.  From A Balcony Overlooking The Sea
9.  Silver Clouds



Share Tweet