On September 14, The Vaselines will release their sophomore album, Sex With An X. It arrives a mere 20 years after the Cumbernauld duo’s debut, Dum Dum.

Having disbanded in 1989, founder members Eugene Kelly and Frances McKee reformed The Vaselines in 2008 to play a live date; a string of other shows followed, and last year Sub Pop released a timely compilation of the group’s classic recordings, entitled Enter The Vaselines. Suitably refocussed and energised, Kelly and McKee holed up at the Analogue Catalogue studio near Manchester with Dum Dum producer Jamie Watson to record twelve new songs (plus two B-sides) in thirteen days. They were joined by Belle & Sebastian’s Stevie Jackson and Bob Kildea on guitar and bass respectivey, and The 1990s’ Michael McGaughrin on drums.

1. Ruined
2. Sex With An X
3. The Devil Inside Me
4. Such a Fool
5. Turning It On
6. Overweight But Over You
7. Poison Pen
8. I Hate the 80’s
9. Mouth to Mouth
10. Whitechapel
11. My God’s Bigger Than Your God
12. Exit The Vaselines

The Vaselines will play the following UK live dates in September:

15 Edinburgh Bongo Room
16 Newcastle Other Room
17 Leeds Brudenell Social Club
18 Liverpool Static Gallery
19 Cardiff Millenium Music Hall
20 Nottingham Rescue Rooms
21 Bristol Thekla
22 London The Scala
23 Manchester Deaf Institute
24 Glasgow Oran Mor



Share Tweet