FACT mix 159 is a superlative house and techno session from Deetron.

Sam Geiser has been producing and DJing as Deetron since for more than a decade, debuting way back in 1998 with the Insert Direction EP for Axodya. While others have fallen in and out of fashion, Deetron has stayed on top, thanks to his open-minded approach to new music but also his unshakeable grasp of classic dancefloor dynamics – his DJ sets, like his productions, are always generously skippy, melodic and bass-driven, which explains why his high-octane mix CD for Fuse was one of FACT’s top albums of 2008.

Geiser continues to flourish as a producer – his latest 12″, ‘Each Step’, is a collaboration with Seth Troxler on Circus Company – and has recently remixed the likes of DJ Hell and Steve Bug. If you’re new to his work, we suggest beginning with his 2008 release ‘Let’s Get Over It’, notable for the devastating Marcel Dettmann version that accompanied it.

The tracklist for Deetron’s FACT mix speaks for itself: a ton of our favourite current producers are represented, including Patrice Scott, WAX (Shed), Basic Soul Unit, Kink and Surgeon, and there are welcome outings for Dixon’s dancefloor edit of Ame’s neo-kosmische epic ‘Fiori’ and the Motor City Drum Ensemble remix of Caribou.

You can catch Deetron spin at Ministry of Sound next Saturday, 26 June, where he’ll be appearing alongside Joris Voorn and 2000 And One in the main Box room; Will Saul and Motor City Drum Ensemble feature in the Loft. For more information and tickets, click here.

1. Fred P – On this vibe (Patrice Scott RMX) – Esperanza
2. Death on the balcony – Joplin (Soul Clap RMX) – MagicBag
3. Kink – Kiss the sky – Halal
4. AME – Fiori (Dixon Beat Edit) – Innervisions
5. Toby Tobias – Macasu (MCDE’s Loft Party Mix) – Latenightaudio
6. Mabaan Soul – Frankfurt (Inxec & Matt Tolfrey RMX) – Metroline Limited
7. Adam Marshall – Burn it down – New Kanada
8. Basic Soul Unit – Bedroom Blues – A room with a view
9. Tuccillo – Laptoploop1 – ISGUD
10. WAX – 300003 B – WAX
11. Kenny Larkin – Glob (Ben Klock RMX) – Planet E
12. Lighter thief – Not in the book – Ifach
13. Alex O. Smith – Mid 90’s – FXHE
14. Ecstasy Club – Jesus loves the acid – Swordfish
15. Caribou – Leave House (MCDE RMX) – Domino
16. Recloose – Ain’t changing (Carl Craig Remix) – Planet E
17. Ozka – Hidden Roots (Peter van Hoesen RMX) – Mowar
18. Henrik Schwarz & Kuniyuki – Once Again (Kuniyuki instrument version) –
19. Surgeon – Balance – Ideal Trax
20. Dirty Doering – Loco (Vince Watson Ambient Remix) – Damage Music
21. Guy Gerber – Lost in you like a chinese cookie – Supplement Facts
22. Soul Clap – Esperanza – Wolf + Lamb



Share Tweet