Justin Broadrick will premiere his new recording project, Pale Sketcher, on Ghostly International.

Jesu: Pale Sketches Demixed is the debut full-length from Broadrick’s Pale Sketcher alias, and will be released on CD, digital and limited edition LP on August 24. A detail from the cover art is pictured above.

Broadrick first came to the public’s attention as a member of UK grindcore band Napalm Death, subsequently carving out his own niche with the industrial/metal Godflesh, which combined guitar noise and electronics to compelling, often terrifying effect. Broadrick’s electronic tendencies came yet further to the fore with Techno Animal, his short-lived but highly influential partnership with Kevin Martin (The Bug / King Midas Sound), before he founded Jesu, a band dedicated to ethereal, shoegaze-influenced metal.

Pale Sketcher was born in 2007, around the time Jesu released the album Pale Sketches. This record compiled minimalist, synthesizer-riddled tracks that didn’t fit the established Jesu sound, rejecting metallic guitar assaults in favour of more subtle and considered soundscapes. Following their release, Broadrick was unable to stop playing with these pieces, “de-mixing” them to the point where they began to resemble nothing he’d ever made before. The resulting versions constitute the new LP, billed as Broadrick’s most reflective work to date, with the emphasis on “melancholy, computers, texture” rather than “aggression, guitars, volume”. Curious? download one of its tracks, ‘Plans That Fade’, below.

Download: Pale Sketcher – Plans That Fade

01. Don’t Dream It (Mirage Mix)
02. Can I Go Now (Gone Version)
03. Wash It All Away (Cleansed Dub)
04. The Playgrounds Are Empty (Slumber Mix)
05. Tiny Universe (Interstellar)
06. Supple Hope (2009 Mix)
07. Dummy (Bahnhoff Version)
08. Plans That Fade (Faded Dub)



Share Tweet