Acclaimed Los Angeles post-punk outfit Savage Republic are celebrated on a new compilation from LTM, Procession: An Aural History.

The band were founded by visual artist and designer Bruce Licher in 1981, and combined elements of punk, krautrock, industrial, minimalism and Middle Eastern music. Their most vital period of activity was between 1982 and ’89, during which they released four studio albums – Tragic Figures, Ceremonial, Jamahiriya Democratique Et Populaire De Sauvage and Customs – and many more EPs and singles, most via Licher’s own Independent Project label (itself recently anthologised by LTM).

A fierce, compelling live act, Savage Republic toured Europe extensively, and a track of theirs even appeared on the soundtrack to The Silence of The Lambs. The band’s Jackson Del Rey contributed vocals to Shackleton‘s track ‘Next To Nothing’ in 2007.

After splitting up in ’89, the band reformed in 2007; but Procession focusses on the ’82-’89 period, including rare singles like ‘Swordfighter’ alongside album tracks. The deluxe CD package also includes a 45-minute bonus disc capturing a Savage Republic live performance in Spain earlier this year; the cover art is by Licher and the liner notes come from James Nice.

Procession: An Aural History is due to be released on September 9; the final tracklist is currently under wraps, but we’ll update you when it comes to light.



Share Tweet