UK hip-hop perennial Roots Manuva is set to make a slight return on September 6 with a new album for Big Dada, Duppy Writer.

It’s actually a collection of reworks by Wrong Tom. The Staines-based DJ/producer, who has worked with Pama International, Trojan and, er, Hard Fi, contacted Big Dada to ask if he could fashion a dub version of Roots Manuva’s single ‘Buff Nuff’. Impressed with what he turned out, Big Dada commissioned a series of mixes which became the bonus disc on the limited edition version of Roots’ Slime & Reason LP.

Duppy Writer is an expanded version of that bonus disc, and is being released with new artwork from the Tony McDermott (the legendary illustrator responsible for unforgettable comic-style sleeves for the likes of Scientist and Mad Professor). It covers not just tracks from Slime & Reason but all four of Roots Manuva’s main studio albums, as well as tracks from Dub Come Save Me and Alternately Deep. There’s also a brand new collaboration between Roots Manuva and Ricky Ranking, ‘Jah Warriors’, which will be released as single.

1. Butterfly Crab Walk
2. Chin Up
3. Duppy Writer (Skit)
4. Worl’ A Mine
5. Big Tings Redone
6. Jah Warriors
7. Proper Tings Juggled
8. Dutty Rut
9. Dub Decay
10. Lick Up Ya Foot
11. Rebuff
12. Son of Bodda
13. Motion 82



Share Tweet