Synth-pop pioneer John Foxx will release a new album, D.N.A., on October 11.

The album will be available via the former Ultravox singer’s own label, Metamatic Records. Taking its title from a futuristic corporation mentioned in a short story on Foxx’s website, D.N.A. includes a DVD featuring unique collaborations between Foxx and his favourite independent film-makers.

The CD carries all the music for the films, plus tracks that Foxx has recorded as “possibilities” for soundtracks. Guest contributors include Steve D’Agostino, ex-Japan percussionist Steve Jansen and ambient maestro Harold Budd, with whom Foxx has previously collaborated on the sublime double-album Drift Music / Translucence.

The artwork for D.N.A. is by Jonathan Barnbook, who has worked with Damien Hirst and David Bowie among others.

2010 is proving to be a busy year for Foxx. It’s the 30th anniversary of the release of Metamatic, his hugely influential, Ballard-inspired masterpiece, and he recently performed an acclaimed live show at London’s Roundhouse, presenting material old and new. Foxx is currently putting the finishing touches to an analogue synthesizer recorded with Benge as John Foxx & The Maths.

More information here. Read FACT’s recent in-depth interview with John Foxx here.


Disc One
1. Maybe Tomorrow
2. Kaiyahura
3. City of Mirage
4. Flightpath Tegel
5. Violet Bloom
6. Phantom Lover
7. A Secret Life 7
8. A Secret Life 2
9. Over the Mirage

Disc Two (DVD)
1. Maybe Tomorrow by Karborn
2. Violet Bloom by Steve D’Agostino
3. Flightpath Tegel by Ian Emes
4. A Secret Life 2 by Ian Emes
5. City of Mirage by Macoto Tezka
6. Kaiyagura by Macoto Tezka
7. Over the Mirage by Macoto Tezka
8. A Half-Remembered Sentence From The Quiet Man by Jonathan Barnbrook
9. Clicktrack by Jonathan Barnbrook



Share Tweet