FACT mix 175 is a kaleidoscopic, summer-friendly selection by The Unabombers.

The Unabombers are Luke Cowdrey and Justin Crawford. As masterminds of Manchester’s legendary Electric Chair club night, which began in 1995 and came to an end in 2008, Cowdrey and Crawford cultivated a house and disco-rooted but open-minded dancefloor aesthetic, drawing upon techno, hip-hop, broken beat, R&B and Latin sounds – check the 2008 Tirk compilation Electric Chair – Saved My Life for a fine audio document of what made the party tick.

Electric Chair attracted such distinguished guests as Maurice Fulton, Danny Krivit, Harvey, Theo Parrish, Derrick May, Gilles Peterson, Carl Craig and Metro Area, and over its thirteen year lifespan The Unabombers achieved a rare feat – curating a night that didn’t just reflect a musical sub-culture, but actually fed into and advanced it.

Since Electric Chair was laid to rest, The Unambombers have maintained a hectic DJ schedule worldwide, opened a music bar in Manchester (Electrik) and also concentrated more on their own productions, remixing the likes of Ashley Beedle, Trüby Trio, Shur-I-Kan, Crazy P and The Elektrons. But probably their most time-consuming and impressive achievement has been the founding in 2008 of their own annual music festival, Electric Elephant. This year’s edition takes place in sunny Petrcane on the coast of Croatia, August 27-29, with numerous beachside and boat parties featuring the likes of Soundstream, Andrew Weatherall, Fuck Buttons, Todd Terje, Prosumer, The Juan Maclean, Francois K and Ramadanman. More information and tickets here.

Subtitled I Was Born To Love You: Electric Elephant Psychedelic Sunset Mix, The Unabombers’ FACT mix finds them in eclectic and deep-digging mode, kicking off with the vocal acrobatics of Munir Nurettin Bey and taking in tracks from Dorothy Ashby, Slum Village, Vangelis, Pharaoh Sanders and The Bee Gees.

1. Munir Nurettin Bey – Madem Ki Vardi Hicran
2. Corliss – Anything Goes
3. Monsters of Folk – Dear God (Sincerely MOF)
4. Cortex – Pauvre Star
5. Gayngs – The Gaudy Side Of Twon
6. Gino Soccio – So Lonely
7. Animal Collective – College
8. Bongos Ikwue – All Night Long
9. Richard Hawley – Open Up Your Door
10. The Bee Gees – Kilburn Towers
11. Dorothy Ashby – Come Live With Me (Dublinbusdisco edit)
12. Pharaoh Sanders – Love Is Everywhere
13. John Martyn – I’d Rather Be The Devil
14. Slum Village – Dirty (Instrumental Mix)
15. Vangelis – Can’t Take It Anymore
16. My Morning Jacket – Touch Me I’m Screaming



Share Tweet