Squarepusher has disclosed full details of his Shobaleader One album.

Titled d’Demonstrator, it follows his recent Shobaleader EP for Ed Banger, Cryptic Motion, and features nine new tracks.

Shobaleader One is, in Squarepusher’s own words from an interview-based press release, “his band. Last summer a bunch of kids got in contact with me. They were talking about forming an ensemble, which I thought was a ridiculous idea but I was impressed by their perseverance so we met up. Their idea was that they wanted the ‘fantasy group’ I had written about in connection with [past Squarepusher album] Just A Souvenir to become a real entity that would record and tour. So we had a go at doing some recording and the story so far is documented on this record.”

“The overall aim is to articulate my music through the medium of a band. I always thought that a band would be a limiting thing. I’ve got very used to being able to make music by programming or playing without having to explain anything to anyone, and I assumed it would slow everything down if I had to. Actually it has made it quicker because I’m not trying to be four people simultaneously any more. I’m not over-explaining anything to them as they’ve got strong ideas of their own and I want to hear that in the final results.”

Squarepusher has also revealed that a Shobaleader One tour is planned for next year, and that he’s been “in contact” with Andre 3000 from Outkast. The band comprises, from left to right in the above pic, Sten t’Mech (guitar), Strobe Nazard (keyboards), Squarepusher (bass/vocals), Company Laser (drums) and Arg Nution (guitar).

d’Demonstrator will be released on October 18 through Warp.

d’Demonstrator tracklist:
1. Plug Me In
2. Laser Rock
3. Into The Blue
4. Frisco Wave
5. Megazine
6. Abstract Lover
7. Endless Night
8. Cryptic Motion
9. Maximum Planck



Share Tweet