We’re not entirely sure the world needs another ESG compilation, but Fire Records have gone ahead and produced one. If you’re as yet uninitiated into the charms of the Scroggins sisters’ music, it’s not a bad place to start.

Entitled Dance To The Best of ESG, it’s a comprehensive two-disc release that ranges from their early Martin Hannett-recorded material (‘Moody’, ‘UFO’, etc) to their more recent work. It boasts new artwork by John Foster and two booklets, including liner notes from Garry Mulholland.

Formed in the South Bronx in the late 70s, ESG caught the eye of 99 Records’ Ed Bahlman when playing in a local talent show, and soon found themselves opening for the likes PiL, Gang Of Four and A Certain Ratio. Factory figurehead Tony Wilson was blown away by their performance at the latter show, and he ushered them into the studio to record with the inimitable Hannett, who lent their rubbery punk-funk grooves an uncommonly eerie, spacious quality. Not longer after they played the opening night of Hacienda in Manchester.

A well-received album, Come Away With Me, followed not long after, but the financial decline of 99 Records hindered the Scroggins’ progress, and they fell upon hard times themselves, despite being one of the most sampled acts of the hip-hop era. The band continued to play live and record intermittently, but it wasn’t until 2000, when Soul Jazz issued the compilation A South Bronx Story, that they finally got their dues. Since then they’ve released two more albums of original material, Step Off (2002) and Keep On Moving (2006).


Disc One:
1. You’re No Good
2. Tiny Sticks
3. Moody
4. Come Away
5. UFO
6. Dance
7. Parking Lot Blues
8. Chistelle
9. Talk It
10. Erase You
11. Hold Me Right
12. It’s Alright
13. Get Funky
14. My Love For You
15. About You
16. Insane (Tambourine Mix)
17. Keep On Moving
18. I Can’t Tell You What To Do
19. Moody (Spaced Out)

Disc Two
1. Dance To The Beat Of My Moody
2. Bam Bam Jam
3. A New Day
4. In The Streets
5. Erase You (Puppy To Your Side)
6. You’re No Good (Alternate Version)
7. Standing In Line
8. I Wanna Dance
9. Six Pack (Original Version)
10. Moody (A New Mood)
11. There Was A Time
12. Earn It
13. Like This



Share Tweet