Doom-metal heroes Earth are set to release a new compilation, Bureaucratic Desire for Extra Capsular Extraction, containing all the tracks that they recorded during their first studio sessions in 1990.

The tracks have been available before, spread across 1991’s Extra Capsular Extractions EP (a detail from that release’s cover art is pictured above) and 1995’s Sunn Amps And Smashed Guitars, but this is the first time that all seven have been available in one set, and they’ve all been newly remastered by Mell Dettmer for the occasion.

The album comes courtesy of the Southern Lord label, and is available in three distinct editions featuring artwork by Simon Fowler and package design by Sunn O))’s Stephen O’Malley. Most desirable is the 2xLP edition, which is pressed on 180g grey vinyl in a heavy gatefold jacket and limited to 550 copies. The album will also be available on regular LP and CD, each bundled with a specially commissioned Bureaucratic Desire T-shirt; the T-shirt is also available separately. All these products are on sale at discounted prices direct from Southern Lord for a short time only – more information here.

Earth – whose sonic explorations over the years have earned them fans as diverse as Autechre and Kurt Cobain – recorded the music on Bureaucratic Desire at Smegma Studios in Portland, Oregon. Their most recent album is 2008’s magnificent The Bees Made Honey In The Lion’s Skull.

1. A Bureaucratic Desire for Revenge, part 1
2. A Bureaucratic Desire for Revenge, part 2
3. Ouroboros Is Broken
4. Geometry of Murder
5. German Dental Work
6. Divine and Bright
7. Dissolution 1



Share Tweet