If you’ve been reading FACT of late, you’ll know about Planet Mu’s mission to provide a wider platform to juke and footwork, the Chicago dance music forms that, well, everybody’s talking about right now.

They’ve already released an EP by scene lynchpin DJ Rashad and an often stunning album by DJ Nate, who twists the juke template into haunted, tortured shapes. Equally as good is an album by DJ Roc, The Crack Capone, due out later this month.

The most comprehensive release yet though, is due out on December 6. Titled Bangs & Works Vol. 1, it’s a triple-vinyl, 25-track compilation that features established footwork DJs such as Rashad, his partner Spinn, Roc, DJ Clent and Traxman, along with lesser-known names such as DJ Diamond, Tha Pope, DJ Lil Rome, and DJ Elmoe, whose melodic, floaty take on the genre has rarely left our stereo this year.

Bangs & Works Vol.1 comes with full sleeve notes and artist interviews by Chicago’s Dave Quam, and all vinyl buyers will receive a download code. You can hear samples of all the tracks here.

On October 31, FACT will be presenting the London debut of DJ Spinn, one of the key figures in this scene. He’ll be supported by fellow Chicago resident Chrissy Murderbot, who’ll also be releasing footwork on Planet Mu in the future, as well as Bok Bok, Hyetal and Ill Blu. That’s at the Lock Tavern, Camden; entry is free.

Bangs & Works Vol. 1 tracklist:

1. DJ Elmoe – Whea Yo Ghost At, Whea Yo Dead Man
2. DJ Rashad – Teknitian
3. Tha Pope – Jungle Juke
4. DJ Rashad – Itz Not Rite
5. DJ Roc – Fuck Dat
6. RP Boo – Total Darkness
7. DJ Spinn – 2020
8. Tha Pope – All The Things
9. DJ Killa E – Star Wars
10. DJ Roc – One Blood
11. RP Boo – Eraser
12. DJ Lil Rome & DJ Yung Tellem – Kill Da Circle Play
13. DJ Trouble – Bangs & Works
14. DJ Trouble – Fuck Um Up Jus Basics
15. DJ Elmoe – Yo Shit Fucked Up
16. DJ Yung Tellem – Freddy Vs Jason
17. DJ Trouble – Mosh Pit
18. Traxman – Compute Funk
19. DJ Lil Rome – I Go Hard
20. DJ Diamond – Ready Mother Fucka
21. DJ Diamond – Freakazoid
22. DJ Nate – Ima Dog
23. DJ Clent – I Love You
24. DJ Nate – He Ain’t Bout It
25. Traxman – The Comeback



Share Tweet