Former Ghosts will release their sophomore album, New Love, this month via Upset The Rhythm.

The band is a collaboration between Freddy Ruppert (who has also recorded as This Song Is A Mess But So Am I), Zola Jesus and Jamie Stewart of Xiu Xiu. They debuted last year with Fleurs, a patchy but seductive study in reverb-soaked goth. New Love is a clearer, more composed and minimalist work than its predecessor, with UTR going so far as to describe it as “neurotically crafted”.

Ruppert is the album’s central writing and singing presence, his intimate, tortured vocal offset by contributions from not only Zola Jesus but also Tearist’s Yasmine Kittles. Jamie Stewart mainly adds percussion, synths and “extra textures”, but he does take to the microphone for ‘New Orleans’. For more information, and to cop a free download of album track ‘Chin Up, visit Upset The Rhythm here.

1. The Days Will Get Long Again
2. Winter’s Year
3. New Orleans
4. Until You Are Alone Again
5. Chin Up
6. And When You Kiss Me
7. Taurean Nature
8. Trust
9. Right Here
10. I Am Not What You Want
11. Only In Time
12. Bare Bones
13. New Love



Share Tweet