Dubstep progenitors Horsepower Productions are set to return on November 29 with their first new album in six years. It’s called Quest For The Sonic Bounty.

These days essentially a solo project of founder member Ben Garner AKA Benny Ill, with some contributions from newcomer Jay King, Horsepower have been fairly quiet since the release of 2004’s To The Rescue, and it seemed like the name might have been retired completely before the emergence last year of two new 12″s, ‘Damn It’/’Kingstep’ (artwork detail pictured above) and ‘Exersising’ (a Lee Perry version issued on Adrian Sherwood’s legendary On-U-Sound imprint).

To The Rescue, and its flawless predecessor In Fine Style (2002), stand as two of the most original and satisfying full-lengths to come out of the UK garage explosion, and helped bridge the gap between the silken, poppy sound of early 2-step and the roughness of grime and then dubstep, drawing inspiration not just from heavy-duty reggae but also techno, breakbeat and jungle (former members Nassis and Lev Jnr were both heavily involved in Nico’s No U-Turn).

Quest For The Sonic Bounty will see release via Tempa, the same label that brought us both previous Horsepower LPs. It includes special edits of ‘Damn It’ and ‘Kingstep’ and the aforementioned remix of Lee Perry, and will be released on 3×12″ vinyl, CD and digital. The full tracklist is below; more info when we have it.

1. Rain
2. Mexican Slayride
3. 22
4. Water
5. Kingstep (LP Version)
6. 18th Special
7. Damn It (Extended LP Version)
8. Lee Perry: Exercising (Horsepower Remix)
9. Poison Wine



Share Tweet