Peerless reggae archivists Trojan Records have recently embarked on a new 7″ series showcasing previously unreleased vintage material from legendary producers such as Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry (pictured) and Tommy McCook.

The instantly collectible series kicked off with unreleased tracks from Desmond Dekker & The Aces and Randy’s All Stars Band. The next release, the third instalment, has just been issued; it features two cuts produced by Lee Perry in his Black Ark studio in 1977. The A-side is Candy McKenzie’s ‘Breakfast In Bed’, backed with a never before heard track entitled ‘Ice Cream’. The 7″ following this, due out in November, focusses on the talents of Tommy McCook, with his ‘Reggae To Jeggae’ complementing Eric Morris’s ‘Deep In My Soul’.

Future releases are planned from Barry Howard, Leslie Kong and others; full details below.

A. Sentimental Reasons – Desmond Dekker & The Aces
B. Sugar & Spice – Desmond Dekker & The Aces

A. Pepper Pot – Count Matchuki & Vincent Chin’ Randy’s All Stars Band
B. Lick It Back – Count Matchuki & Vincent Chin’ Randy’s All Stars Band

THB7003 (October 2010)
A. Breakfast In Bed – Candy McKenzie. Produced by Lee Perry
B. Ice Cream. Produced by Lee Perry

THB7004 (November 2010)
A. Deep in My Soul – Eric Morris. Produced by Tommy McCook
B. Reggae To Jeggae – Tommy McCook. Produced by Tommy McCook

THB7005 (January 2011)
A. Dancing Time – Desmond Dekker & The Aces. Produced by Leslie Kong
B. Beverley’s Special (Nothing For Nothing) – Roland Alphonso & The
Beverley’s All Stars. Produced by Leslie Kong

THB7006 (February 2011)
A. Treat Me Good – Al Barry & The Aces. Produced by Barry Howard
B. Down We Go – Al Barry & The Aces. Produced by Barry Howard

THB7007 (March 2011)
A. Mercy Mercy – Derrick Morgan & Desmond Dekker Produced by Leslie Kong
B. Easy Come, Easy Go – The Pioneers Produced by Leslie Kong



Share Tweet