Rough Trade will release a new compilation on November 22 entitled Synth Wave 10 [via Resident Advisor].

Though its latterday output might not reflect the fact, back in the late 70s and 80s Rough Trade provided a home for much inventive synth-pop and experimental electronics, including key releases from Cabaret Voltaire and Chris & Cosey. Their 2002 compilation Rough Trade Shops: Electronic 01 – actually released via Mute and taking in everyone from Fennesz and Aphex to The Normal and Stereolab – remains an excellent bird’s eye survey of 30 years of artful circuit-bending.

Synth Wave 10 is focussed entirely on contemporary fare. Interestingly, there’s a previously unreleased track from 2VM, the collaborative project of M-nus producer Marc Houle and Minimal Wave bosslady  Veronica Vasicka (pictured) as well as outings for familiar anthems from Zola Jesus and Washed Out (‘Night’ and ‘New Theory’ respectively). Fever Ray covers Nick Cave’s ‘Stranger Than Kindness’ (available to stream over at The Quietus) and Cold Cave‘s stomping ‘I.C.D.K.’ makes a welcome appearance, as does Desire’s excellent Italians Do It Better cut ‘Don’t Call’. Led Er Est and Xeno & Oaklander, who you may know for their releases on Wierd Records, represent the new American cold wave, while Factory Floor and S.C.U.M. keeps the British end up.

More info and pre-orders here.

1. Ye Olde Maids – Cocoa Cherubs
2. Crystal Castles – Empathy
3. Fever Ray – Stranger than Kindness
4. Blank Dogs – Heat and Depression
5. 2vm – Ponika
6. Led Er Est – Scissors
7. Terror Bird – Shadows in the Halls
8. Zola Jesus – Night
9. Washed Out – New Theory
10. Cosmetics – Black Leather Gloves
11. Desire – Don’t Call
12. Cold Cave – I.C.D.K.
13. Soft Metals – The Cold World Melts
14. Void Vision – In 20 Years
15. Xeno & Oaklander – Preuss
16. Factory Floor – Lying
17. S.C.U.M – Ocean of White
18. Design a Wave – Remedy
19. Grimes – Avi
20. Le Syndicat Electronique – On Strike



Share Tweet