One of 2010’s worst kept secrets is that Jamie Smith from the xx is doing a Gil Scott-Heron remix album for XL.

Well, now that badly kept secret is officially out. The album is titled We’re New Here, and finds Smith remixing thirteen tracks from the original sessions for Scott-Heron’s most recent album, I’m New Here, originally produced by XL Recordings head Richard Russell. There’s a CD edition, and a vinyl box set edition, which features the album on pink heavyweight vinyl, a green instrumental version on green heavyweight vinyl, CDs of both, and limited edition prints. Both are out on February 21.

XL have set up a minisite for the album, where you can pre-order the LP and purchase a track from it, ‘New York is Killing Me’. You can both stream audio, and watch the video after the tracklist.

1. I’m New Here
2. Home
3. I’ve Been Me (Interlude)
4. Running
5. My Cloud
6. Certain Things (Interlude)
7. The Crutch
8. Ur Soul and Mine
9. Parents (Interlude)
10. Piano Player
11. NY Is Killing Me
12. Jazz (Interlude)
13. I’ll Take Care Of U



Share Tweet