The longlist for the BBC Sound of 2011 poll has been announced.

A 15-strong selection of “the year’s most promising new artists”, notable inclusions in the 2011 longlist are James Blake, Jamie Woon, Anna Calvi (pictured), Warpaint, Yuck Esben & The Witch. It was compiled from the suggestions of 161 influential music critics, broadcasters, bloggers and talent-spotters – including FACT’s Editorial Director Sean Bidder and FACT contributors Joe Muggs and Dan Hancox – who were asked to name their favourite three new acts.

Candidates can be from any country and any musical genre, but in order to be eligible, the artist must not have had a UK top 20 single or album by 14 November 2010 and must not “already be famous”, for example by featuring in the final stages of a TV talent show or being a member of a successful band.

The previous winners of the BBC’s ‘Sound of’ polls are 50 Cent (2003), Keane (2004), The Bravery (2005), Corrine Bailey Rae (2006), Mika (2007), Adele (2008), Little Boots (2009) and Ellie Goulding (2010). The poll is generally regarded as an accurate barometer of artists expected to achieve mainstream success in the UK in the 12 months ahead.

Out of the 15 artists long-listed for 2010, a top 5 will be chosen across the week commencing January 3, 2011, with the eventual winner of the poll to be announced on Friday 7 January.

BBC Sound of 2011 longlist:
Anna Calvi
Clare Maguire
Esben & The Witch
Jai Paul
James Blake
Jamie Woon
Jessie J
The Naked & Famous
The Vaccines
Wretch 32

More info here.



Share Tweet