FACT can exclusively reveal that Kryptic Minds will release a new album, Can’t Sleep, on April 4.

The follow-up to their 2009 debut for Loefah’s Swamp81 imprint, One Of Us, Can’t Sleep finds the duo of Simon Shreeve and Brett Bigden expanding and refining their sound without compromising the moody, minimalist, half-stepping qualities that have made them such admired producers.

Though billed rather ominously as “the soundtrack to visions of a sterile land, devoid of people”, Can’t Sleep – which will be issued on CD, digital and 3×12″ vinyl by Black Box – is by no means an unremittingly bleak affair; indeed, it proves its makers to be masters of light and shade. It’s a dubstep album through and through, but one that references Detroit techno, 90s jungle and even (good) trip-hop, the production and arrangements balancing bass heft with cinematic sweep. Stand-outs include dancefloor-wrecking ‘The Fifth’ and the more sombre but no less powerful title track ‘Can’t Sleep’ – featuring vocals from Alys Blaze, it will also be the lead single, out March 7 and backed with a enchanting, suitably noir-ish reinterpretation by Emika.

We’re pleased to be able to offer you a stream of the first taster of the album, ‘Fade To Nothing’:

Kryptic Minds – Fade To Nothing



Share Tweet