Rush Hour, the Amsterdam-based label dealing in house and beyond from the likes of FaltyDL, Virgo, Cosmin TRG and Tom Trago, this week releases the debut album by BNJMN.

Hitherto little-known, this young British producer has a very mature and well-honed sound that reminds us of Detroit-inspired UK techno and pre-lapsarian electronica from the early 90s. Plastic World is his first major offering following a couple of low-key single releases, and arose out of demos he sent to Rush Hour over a period of time. The glistening, utopian arpeggios of ‘Blocks’ set the tone: this is meaty, melodic dance music which is naive in spirit but slick in execution.

A fine album, then, and BNJMN a new talent to keep your eye on. More information and audio clips here.

1. Blocks
2. Wheels In Motion
3. Tunnel Flight
4. Fire In The Hole
5. Plastic World
6. Traditions
7. See Thru Stars
8. Depressure
9. Ocean Spray
10. Miniature Steps



Share Tweet