Friendly Fires have announced full details of their eagerly anticipated sophomore album, Pala.

The album – which takes its title from Aldous Huxley’s 1962 novel Island – was produced bythe band with Paul Epworth, with recording sessions taking place in London, St Albans, Sussex, New York and Yvetot in France. The Harlem Gospel Choir lend their pipes to ‘Hurting’ and Holy Ghost‘s Alex Frankel plays Clavinet on ‘True Love’, while the cover art is by fashion photographer Sølve Sundsbø.

Out May 16 on XL Recordings, Pala will be preceded by a single, ‘Live Those Days Tonight’, which premieres on Zane Lowe’s BBC Radio 1 show tonight, March 22, and will subsequently be available to stream at

1. Live Those Days Tonight
2. Blue Cassette
3. Running Away
4. Hawaiian Air
5. Hurting
6. Pala
7. Show Me Lights
8. True Love
9. Pull Me back to Earth
10. Chimes
11. Helpless



Share Tweet