Musicians from Berlin, Germany and Nairobi, Kenya have collaborated on a new compilation, titled BLNRB.

The release stems from a trip in 2009, where rave kings Modeselektor and fellow Berlin residents Gebrüder Teichmann and Jahcoozi journeyed to the East African city to “meet, mix and mingle with artists from the local music scene”. While there, they were introduced to various rappers (Mister Abbas, Kimya, Lon Jon, Nazizi and hip-hop collective Ukoo Flani), pop act Just a Band and blind singer/guitarist Michel Ongaro, all of whom would go on to appear on this compilation.

Two studios were set up in a Nairobi townhouse, and word spread: soon, there was a succession of new acts visiting the studios, which together would become known as the Madhouse.

In Spring 2010, the Berliners returned to Nairobi to start recording with these artists, and finally, on 8 July, the fruits of their labour together will be released as BLNRB – Welcome to the Madhouse, an 18-track compilation released through Out Here music. For a taste of what to expect, you can watch a promo video below.


1. Goldbreaks Variation (Abbas, Kimya, LJ, Teichmann)
2. Madhouse Nazizi, (Jahcoozi, Abbas)
3. Dirty Laundry (Teichmann, Abbas, Kimya, LJ)
4. Msoto Millions (Jahcoozi, Ukoo Flani)
5. Very Necessary (Necessary Noize, Teichmann)
6. Room For Me (Just a Band, Jahcoozi)
7. Ma Bhoom Bhoom Bhoom (Jahcoozi, Ukoo Flani, Radi)
8. Everyday Without You (Teichmann, Alai K)
9. Living Room (Teichmann, Ukoo Flani, Dogs)
10. Monkeyflip (Modeselektor, Nazizi, Abbas)
11. Goldbreaks (Teichmann, Kimya, LJ, Abbas)
12. Take It Higher (Jahcoozi, Little King, Robo)
13. Kumbuka (Jahcoozi, Michel Ongaro, Abbas)
14. Richie Interlude (Teichmann, Ukoo Flani)
15. Kibera Benga (Massai Mbilli, Modeselektor, Just a Band)
16. Away Just a Band, (Jahcoozi, Teichmann, Michel Ongaro)
17. Zamaney (Jahcoozi, Ukoo Flani)
18. Whateverman Dub (Teichmann, Ukoo Flani)



Share Tweet