MGMT have put together the latest instalment in the LateNightTales compilation series, out October 7.

The track selection seems an honest balance of the canonical and the obscure, with universally acclaimed efforts from The Velvet Underground, Spacemen 3, Suicide and The Durutti Column rubbing shoulders with less well-known material from the likes of London post-rock trailblazers Disco Inferno, acid folkie Dave Bixby, Swell Maps offshoot The Jacobites and criminally overlooked Factory band The Wake. The album concludes with a spoken word piece from music critic Paul Morley.

It’s customary with LateNightTales for the curator to record an exclusive cover version, and MGMT have plumped for Bauhaus’s ‘All We Ever Wanted Was Everything’.

1. Disco Inferno – Can’t See Through It
2. The Great Society – Love You Girl
3. Suicide – Cheree
4. Television Personalities – Stop & Smell The Roses
5. The Velvet Underground – Ocean
6. Felt – Red Indians
7. Julian Cope – Laughing Boy
8. The Durutti Column – For Belgium Friends
9. Charlie Feathers – Mound of Clay
10. Mark Fry – For Wilde
11. MGMT – All We Ever Wanted Was Everything (Exclusive Cover Version)
12. Cheval Sombre – Troubled Mind
13. Dave Bixby – Drug Song
14. The Jacobites – Hearts Are Like Flowers
15. The Chills – Pink Frost
16. Martin Rev – Sparks
17. The Wake – Melancholy Man
18. Spacemen 3 – Lord Can You Hear Me?
19. Pauline Anna Strom – Morning Splendor
20. Paul Morley – Lost For Words Part. 2 (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece)



Share Tweet