On November 7, swiftly blossoming Manchester artist Damu will release his debut album, Unity, on Keysound.

Damu’s only had two physical releases to date, namely EPs on Keysound and Local Action (he also recently released a split 12″ on Montreal label Swing and Skip), but already he’s honed an instantly recognisable sound, defined by vivid bursts of colour and shimmering, aquatic fills, with a knack of going straight for the jugular with unashamedly euphoric climaxes and giddy arpeggios.

11 of the 12 tracks that make up Unity are entirely new, while album centrepiece ‘Ridin’ the Hype’ is a revisit of Damu’s ‘Ridin’ single for Keysound with vocals by grime’s Trim.

Unity will mark Keysound’s third album release of the year, following LV & Joshua Idehen’s superb Routes and the recently-announced Carrier, by the perennially underrated Sully. The second track from the album, ‘Breathless’ can be streamed via the Soundcloud widget below.

Damu – Breathless


1. Unity
2. Breathless
3. L.O.V.E
4. After Indigo
5. Weapon #3
6. Maths Is Fine For Sum
7. Cheat When U Compete
8. Ridin’ The Hype (feat. Trim)
9. Waterfall Of Light
10. Plasm
11. Ether
12. Don’t Cry In My Bed



Share Tweet