The longlist for the BBC’s Sound of 2012 has been announced.

The 15-strong list was compiled from the votes of 180 “influential UK tastemakers” for their favourite emerging acts. The top 5 will be revealed across the first week of the New Year, with the Sound of 2012 winner announced on Friday 6 January. Jessie J topped last year’s list, while previous winners include Ellie Goulding, Adele, Little Boots, Mika and 50 Cent.

Odd Future crooner Frank Ocean and Harlem rapper A$AP Rocky, both of whom were honoured in FACT’s 50 Best Albums of 2011, are probably the most interesting inclusions on the list, along with the none-more-hyped Azealia Banks (pictured). Skrillex, whose stadium-primed take on dubstep has turned him, in a short space of time, into one of the world’s biggest dance acts, is also present.

The other longlisted artists are: Dot Rotten, Jamie N Commons, Flux Pavilion, Michael Kiwanuka, Lianne La Havas, Ren Harvieu, Spector, Dry The River, Friends and Niki & The Dove.

George Ergatoudis, Head of Music for BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra, commented: “The Sound of 2012 will be the tenth year of predictions compiled by BBC News: a project now established as the definitive annual list of exciting new artists to watch out for. The sheer volume of taste makers who contribute gives it a gravitas that other crystal ball gazers can only envy.

“The list will inspire debate for sure, but most importantly, it will lead to discovery and for artists and musicians trying to stand out from the ever-expanding crowd, that can only be a good thing.”


BBC Sound of 2012 Longlist:
A$AP Rocky
Azealia Banks
Dot Rotten
Dry The River
Flux Pavilion
Frank Ocean
Jamie N Commons
Lianne La Havas
Michael Kiwanuka
Niki & The Dove
Ren Harvieu



Share Tweet