Rough Trade Shops’ latest compilation, Electronic 11, will be released on January 16, 2012.

It arrives no less than 10 years after Rough Trade’s first and last Electronic compilation, Electronic 01, which was a seminal 2xCD trawl through more than 40 years of sonic experimentation, featuring the likes of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, Brian Eno, Joe Meek, Throbbing Gristle, Matmos, New Order, Aphex Twin, Coil, Stereolab, The Normal and The Human League.

Electronic 11 isn’t a history lesson, but rather a 22-track survey of the past year in electronic music. It takes in the hip-hop derivations of Flying Lotus, Rustie and Death Grips, the galloping synth thrash of Prurient‘s ‘A Meal Can Be Made’, Hercules & Love Affair‘s bumping ‘My House’, Shackleton‘s riveting remix of King Midas Sound‘s ‘Deadman’, the clotted pop of John Maus‘s ‘Head For The Country’ and the deconstructed space-disco of Ford & Lopatin‘s ‘Emergency Room’.

Other artists featured include Ben Frost, Emeralds’ Mark McGuire, Pan Sonic & Keiji Haino, Planet Mu’s kosmische disciplies Solar Bears, Azari & III (pictured above), Modeselektor, Nicolas Jaar, Rene Hell, Ekoplekz and Alva Noto. The CD comes with sleevenotes by Rob Young, and with a limited edition varnished sleeve available exclusively from Rough Trade. More information and pre-orders here.


1. Rene Hell – Oxford Meter End
2. Nicolas Jaar – Space is Only Noise If You Can See
3. Flying Lotus – And The World Laughs With You ft. Thom Yorke
4. Shackleton / King Midas Sound – Deadman, Death Dub Remix
5. Ayshay – WARN-U
6. John Maus – Head For The Country
7. Ford & Lopatin – Emergency Room
8. Rustie – Hyperthrust
9. Hercules & Love Affair – My House
10. Azari & III – Manhooker
11. Modeselektor – Evil Twin feat. Otto von Schirach
12. Death Grips – Guillotine
13. Sensational meets Koyxen – +weekend2 (remix work)
14. alva noto – uni deform
15. anne-james chaton – pop is dead
16. Marcus Schmickler – Discordance Axis
17. Ekoplekz – Critical Condition
18. Pansonic with Keiji Haino – If I could incarnate this feeling would you consider it a creation
19. Prurient – A Meal Can Be Made
20. Solar Bears – Twin Stars
21. Mark McGuire – Alma (Reprise) / Chances Are
22. Ben Frost – Ó God protect me



Share Tweet