The Weeknd’s new mixtape is here.

The nine-track Echoes of Silence is the third in this year’s trilogy of mixtapes from one of the undisputed stars of 2011. Following on from House of Balloons (FACT’s album of 2011) and Thursday, The Weeknd’s latest mixtape features a cover of Michael Jackson’s ‘Dirty Diana’, production from Clams Casino [via Pitchfork], and the second guest vocal performance on a Weeknd mixtape – following Drake’s guest verse on Thursday, Three 6 Mafia’s Juicy J appears for a Christmas-driven call to arms at the end of ‘Same Old Song’.

Download it from The Weekend’s website.

UPDATE: The Weeknd tweeted on December 26 to say that his mixtape trilogy will be released as a remastered “package” in 2012:

“I can’t wait to re-release The Trilogy as a package, re-mastered for you to collect with bonus features… #2012”

No indication as yet as to what precise form this “package” will take, or which – if any – label it will be released through. More information when we have it.



Share Tweet