Bright Eyes’ The People’s Key has won the Best Art Vinyl 2011 prize for record cover art.

The sleeve for the latest album from Conor Oberst’s project, designed by the fantastically named Zack Nipper, beat close runners-up Cults (Cults) and Bon Iver (Bon Iver) to take prime position. The top 10 is as follows:

1. Bright Eyes – The People’s Key
2. Cults – Cults
3. Bon Iver – Bon Iver
4. Washed Out – Washed Out
5. Kasabian – Velociraptor!
6. The Strokes – Angles
7. Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues
8. Cut Copy – Zonoscope
9. Coldplay – Mylo Xyloto
10. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – Belong

The annual prize has been running since 2005. Each year Art Vinyl and “invited music industry design experts” nominate a shortlist of 50 sleeve designs. The final top 50 is based on a public vote – everyone can vote whether for a shortlisted design or one of their own choice. You can view the entire top 50, which features the likes of Pantha Du Prince, Apparat, Friendly Fires and Battles, here.



Share Tweet