Bass Clef will release a new album, Reeling Skullways, on Punch Drunk.

The Bristol based producer and trombonist made his debut on Peverelist’s reliable, also Bristol-based label last year with the single ‘Rollercoasters of the Heart’, until then, he’d mostly released on Blank Tapes and his own label Magic + Dreams.

The title of Reeling Skullways is lifted from a novel by British sci-fi author, while the album’s sound is – according to the album’s press release – “informed by the loopier, more Martian aspects of Chi-town jack and Detroit techno-soul.”

“Long-term Bass Clef fans may be surprised by the lack of samples on this album, and in many ways it follows a similar creative process to his recent work as Some Truths, with most rhythms and textures sculpted from the raw, elemental waveforms of modular analogue synthesis. But with tighter editing, contagious melodies and perfectly positioned drum patterns, the end results reveal Bass Clef simultaneously at his most stripped-back, focused, playful, complicated, emotional and irresistibly groovy.”

Punch Drunk will release Reeling Skyways on April 30.

01. Keep Hoping Machine Running
02. Walworth Road Acid Trapdoor
03. Hackney – Chicago – Jupiter
04. Embrace Disaster
05. Electricity Comes From Other Planets
06. Stenaline Metranil Solar Flare
07. Suddenly Alone Together
08. A Rail Is A Road And A Road Is A River
09. Ghost Kicks In The Spiral



Share Tweet