Soul seducer supreme Bobby Womack is set to return with an album of original material on XL Recordings.

When he popped up on Gorillaz’s Plastic Beach in 2010, he reminded a whole new generation of listeners that pipes don’t get much more impressive than his. In June, the capital-L legend will release The Bravest Man In The Universe. The ten-song collection will be the 68 year old’s first album of new material in 18 years.

Sessions for the record took place between October and December 2011, and were split between Damon Albarn‘s London-based ‘Studio 13’ and New York’s ‘Manhattan Center’. XL did big business with Gil Scott Heron’s spectacular comeback album I’m New Here; here’s hoping that Womack’s latest effort enjoys similar success.

A seriously impressive new track, ‘Please Forgive My Heart’, is available to listen to below. The new cut was produced by Albarn and XL head-honcho Richard Russell, as was the LP as a whole.

The Bravest Man In The Universe comes out on June 11 via XL Recordings.

1. The Bravest Man In The Universe
2. Please Forgive My Heart
3. Deep River
4. Dayglo Reflection
5. Sweet Baby Mine
6. Stupid
7. If There Wasn’t Something There
8. Love Is Gonna Lift You Up
9. Nothin’ Can Save Ya
10. Jubilee




Share Tweet