The Walkmen to release new LP in June

The Walkmen, long-time purveyors of bruised indie-rock par excellence, have a new full-length on the way.

Pitchfork report that the New York combo will return in June with their seventh album, titled Heaven. Track titles include ‘No One Ever Sleeps’, ‘Song For Leigh’, ‘Heartbreaker’, ‘Love Is Luck’ and ‘We Can’t Be Beat’.

In the words of lead singer Hamilton Leithauser, the “detachment you can feel throughout our younger records is gone. We felt like it was time to make a bigger, more generous statement.” The band – still best known for unbeatable 2004 single ‘The Rat’ – have been turning out atmospheric rock since the early Noughties, with their last record being 2010’s lush Lisbon.

Leithauser and co also seem to have hopped onto the current trend of producing an ‘album trailer’, which you can watch below. The calligraphic cover art is also available for your perusal.

Heaven will arrive on June 5, courtesy of Fat Possum/Bella Union.



Share Tweet